Quitting Smoking

Posted: January 15, 2008 in Life!

For those that do not know, I have quit smoking back in August of 2007. That’s 5-1/2 months I’ve been smoke-free.

Many of you may be thinking… Congratulations! But, really don’t congratulate me yet. It’s been a hard 5-1/2 months. See, I quit for my kids and my wife. While that’s a really good thing, I didn’t quit for me. Which makes it hard to stay quit, because I want to fold. The only thing keeping me from lighting up that poison stick, is knowing that I would have put my wife through hell for no reason if I start back up. I can’t do that. Yep, that’s love.

When is quitting smoking worth it? Well, to be honest, it’s really nice to be on a 10-hour flight without going through withdrawl, or sitting behind airport security, wondering if you can make it outside to smoke, go through security, and still make it to your gate. 🙂 Yeah, I travel a bit.

The hardest times for me, is when I’m drinking coffee. I’ve mostly switched to tea, so I don’t have that "trigger", but c’mon…. if you know me, you know that giving up 2-3 pots of coffee per day is not exactly easy. HA! YEah….. I have some health issues. But, trying to fix that.

I also am trying to keep my Lord involved, to help me quit. But, I gotta tell you guys, it’s not been easy. Especially when you get stressed, you do not always remember.

Anyway…. I am still quit, and hope to be in the future.

Cheers!

Tags: ,

Powered by Qumana

Comments
  1. tjpaxson says:

    You are doing so great. I am very proud of you. I was so impressed when Dad and Mom came to visit last weekend. Dad was smoking all around you and yes you were frustrated and irritated at times, but you never picked up a cigarette.

    Baby you are doing great!