Airport Security

Posted: April 2, 2008 in Travel
Tags: , , , , , ,

I just went through Airport Security, and after doing so, I’m reminded of an idea that I heard, when listening to the Twisted Pair podcast, sponsored by Network World.

He mentions that the airport security stations should have 2 lanes. One for business or frequent travelers, and one lane for non-frequent or first time travelers.

I am frustrated at the time it takes to go through security, when I’m ready to go. All my laptops are out, in individual bins. My shoes, jacket, and camara bag in a seperate bin. My boarding pass in hand, and bag on the conveyor ready to be scanned. And all liquid-based containers are in my checked baggage.

But, I can’t go through yet…. because someone didn’t read the signs and they are constantly finding large cans of hair spray, lotions, mouthwash, etc. Now, really it’s not their fault. Sure, they could have read the signs, but I can’t blame them. There are ALOT of signs to read by security. I feel like I’m reading a Microsoft License Agreement, if I kept reading.

So, I believe there should be two lanes… one for frequent travelers so we can just zip by, since we’ve done it so many times, we know what to do.

Yes, some airports HAVE two lanes… those with First Class, and everyone else. I disagree with this. Just because someone can AFFORD the more expensive tickets, does not mean they know more about security as the rest of us.

Plus, if it’s a small regional flight, there is no First-Class.

Why should we have to wait??

Comments
  1. Amber says:

    I subscribe to a publication at work that was JUST talking about this! It is currently in the works, but you will have to pay for the privilege and I think it will be a little spendy.

    Sorry for your trouble- you flew to Cleveland??? What’s the matter- getting to OLD to drive? 🙂

    xo

  2. nutmegmcgraw says:

    Oh no, Amber, don’t you know?? Aaron’s a top dog now! He’s too IMPORTANT to have his time wasted in a car. Nothing but the best for Mr. VIP! lol

    Yes, I would be one of those people that makes everyone wait because I didn’t take ALL the necessary steps for a quick security processing – the last time I was on a plane was about 10 years ago. *sigh* Us po’ folk just cain’t affo’d it. We’s savin’ up fer a trip to Wally Mart. Yeah buddy! Them’s sum cheap travelin’!! LOL!!!

  3. Tammy says:

    I agree with you since there are plenty of business people that do travel all the time and know the ins and outs of airport security. I would think that would also speed things up for everyone not just the frequent flyers. More lanes faster service.

    That’s funny Meg.

  4. wendysisson says:

    I agree it just makes more sense to have two lane. Im so glade i don’t have to mess with that.