I’ve restarted my saltwater tank

Posted: April 27, 2008 in Hobbies
Tags: , , , ,

Okay, so moving a saltwater tank is not exactly the easiest thing in the world. After our move in January, the tank didn’t do too well. Actually, after my last batch of fish died from poor water quality (I know, I know…), I decided to just let it go, until I have time to start it back up again.

Well, I’ve started it back up.

I purchased 40 lbs of live rock from PetCo online. My last 45 lbs of Live Rock were sitting dormant in saltwater buckets. While they haven’t been in clean water for 4 months, they were still in water, which means (hopefully and crossing fingers) I still had some bacteria lying deep in the rocks. Plus, I had matured these rocks with excellent coralline algae.

So, I’ve added another bag of live sand on top of my old substrate (in order to seed my old substrate with the new live one). After cleaning out my nasty filter (oh god, the smell from hell), I then added the 40 lbs of Live Rock from PetCo. I let that sit in the tank for 24 hours.

I set up two clean 5gal buckets of saltwater, and started to clean, scrub, rinse, repeat, my old live rock. I think I cleaned them up pretty well, actually. I only hope my new Live Rock will seed my old Live Rock. The tank looks nice and full now. 85 lbs of live rock in a 55 gal aquarium.

I give it prob 4 weeks before my tank is fully cycled. I’ll probably start stocking it after we close on the house.

Comments
  1. Amber says:

    While I know NOTHING about saltwater tanks, it sure sounds like you’re doing things right. All those terms sound familiar from listening to Mike talk about his tank.

    Good luck with it! I know it is absolutely heartbreaking when the fish die- both emotionally and financially!! 🙂

    xo