“A New Earth” – problem?

Posted: April 28, 2008 in Religion
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

So, my wife has been reading “A New Earth“, by Eckhart Tolle, in order to participate in Oprah’s Book Club. My sister is also reading it. I have not… yet. But because of Oprah’s reach around the world, millions are agreeing

I really should, so I can be a more informed reader. Apparently, according to Tolle, Jesus Christ was an enlightened man, just as Buddha or Muhammed.

WHAT?!??!!!!

If there was ONE thing that seperated Christianity from the rest of the World Religions is that Jesus Christ DID what most enlightened men only talked about. To be “Enlightened” is to have the wisdom and charisma of a higher power. But Jesus Christ WAS an extension OF “the higher power”, filled with the Holy Spirit.

Name ONE enlightened man that was able to cure disease, feed thousands from a loaf of bread, born of a virgin, and even conquer death!! Yes, they all were great speakers and they were all wise. But, to talk about things, and actually DO them, are completely different.

Jesus Christ cannot be placed in the same group as Muhammed or Buddha, except the group of “Man”, since they were all males of the human race. That’s the only commonality

Do I respect Muhammed and Buddha? Yes. Do I consider them wise and enlightened? Yes. Do I consider them the leading authority of how to live life, and even after death? No. That is for my Lord and Savior to do.

I really should read this book. Apparently, it says that we are all a part of energy, and that is what connects us with God and the rest of the world. And that, at some level, EVERY religion worships the same God (at some level). But, to deny my Lord and Savior the respect he deserves is terrible.

EDIT: I am not condemning the book, as I have not yet read it. It seems to have good ideas. Only the thought of Jesus being Enlightened disturbs me.

Do I believe someone will go to Hell if they do not believe in Jesus Christ? No. But, I do believe they won’t go to heaven, if they don’t believe. Now, where they go, I do not know. This “Enlightenment” that they speak of may not be the same thing as Heaven, but rather another stepping stone to get to Heaven.

Paul warns us not to be deceived by other traditions of man in Colossians 2:8:

See to it that no one takes you captive through hollow and deceptive philosophy, which depends on human tradition and the basic principles of this world rather than on Christ.

I only know what the Bible tells me. And, the Bible has been the leading authority, to not just Jesus’ life, but also proven as a historically accurate book.

Reference: Probe Ministries: “A New Earth” Significant Issue

EDIT#2:  Fixed broken link to Reference above.

Comments
  1. Tammy says:

    The book does not tell you to abandon your religion nor change it. It has some really great concepts and ways to better your own life.

    Just because I am reading the book and agree with many of the concept does not mean that I have to stop believing in Jesus. I think it is a book in which people will take from it the good and leave what they disagree with.

    It is a book written by a single man it is not 100% nor is it the gospel. Eckhart isn’t creating a new religion he is simply trying to open peoples minds to new possibilities.

    I can’t wait for you to read it.

  2. Aaron Paxson says:

    I look forward to reading it. Again, I’m not condemning the book, only the idea of Jesus being an “Enlightened Man”. I don’t know enough about the book to give it a full review.

  3. Marianne says:

    Not everything you read is true. IT does not have to be.

    since many people do not know the truth, they speculate and come up with their own ideas.

    Sometimes I get good ideas for blogs when I encounter a false teaching. I then go searching for good data to refute it.

    Maybe you should read it and find errors, and then write about them.

    marianne
    http://heavenawaits.wordpress.com/

  4. Amber says:

    I’m with you, Aaron. I have not read the book yet – for the reasons you stated; not that I will ever be able to quote the bible or really get philosophical about it… that’s just not me.

    I have been thinking of buying it, though- mainly because of all the hype and that I heard that it really goes along with the teachings of the Secret (I think Meg said that) and I am a huge believer in that.

    You’ll have to read it and let me know what you think…

    xo

  5. Aaron Paxson says:

    Marianne,

    “….Maybe you should read it and find errors, and then write about them….”

    Was that not what I was doing? I read an article (linked at the bottom), found an error, and I blogged about it. The title of my blog was questioning the book, not stating a fact. That is what blogs do, give opinions, thoughts, and start questions.

    If you have read the book, and find me to be wrong, please comment. That’s what it’s for 🙂 To start discussion. 🙂

    I also blogged that I *should* read the book, so I can know more.

    Thanks for the comment.

  6. Marianne says:

    Oh, no. I was not arguing with your position. I just gave the typical first set of thoughts about reading any book.

    I am not sure I want to actually read the book, because I would have to spend money on it, and then the author who wrote the errors, would make a profit off me.

    I guess I will just wait to see what people say. I have already heard some of her videos about this book, and it was enough for me to not want to read it.

  7. Aaron Paxson says:

    “….because I would have to spend money on it, and then the author who wrote the errors, would make a profit off me….”

    HA!! 😀

    I will eventually read it, I’m sure.

  8. Marianne says:

    well, think about it.

    we spend our valuable time offering the word of God for free to people, because we want to help them

    then these other guys come along, tell lies, and make money doing it.

  9. Tammy says:

    I believe that any book that can empower a person to live better and more serene life is well worth its money. Believer or Not

    I understand that there are many people upset by A New Earth but I think there are great teaching within the book.

    It is up to each individual to make the right discussion for themselves.

  10. Marianne says:

    true, different things inspire different people.

  11. nutmegmcgraw says:

    WAKE UP PEOPLE!!! Tolle does NOT say whether Jesus was the son of God or NOT. He makes no such comment EITHER WAY!!! And you are missing the entire point by focusing on that detail. Tolle doesn’t go into that because that is a belief for every individual person to decide. Even if he DOESN’T believe Jesus was the son of God (hellooo? God’s own chosen people don’t even believe that), that’s not the point of the book!

    Even with the popular theory of the Law of Attraction, she referred to “the universe”. Did anyone condemn her because she didn’t use the word “God”? Did that mean that she didn’t believe in God?? And if not, did anyone rake her over the coals for it? She never even talked about Jesus! Tolle quotes Jesus all through the book and on Oprah’s show.

    I am VERY MUCH a believer in Jesus Christ, our Lord and Savior, and I still think that this book has a very powerful message. Tammy said it!

    I am quite impassioned with this statement because I keep hearing this from a lot of people, who are all mistaken!! Tolle talks about finding your alignment with God, being still with Him, and how to quiet the part of your mind that fills you with doubt, self recrimination, and pessimism. It’s very simple – like Christianity really is.

    It goes along with “The Secret” because of the truth in the Bible, “Seek ye first the kingdom of God, and all of these things shall be added unto you…” But, you should not view this, as with The Secret as a way to acquire material luxuries and desires. That won’t work. Besides, once you realize the import of this message, it will all soon become obsolete to you anyway. You begin to see just how insignificant so much of what makes up our life and attitudes is. It’s really incredible.

    Sorry, bro. This really isn’t aimed at you, per se, but the multitudes that insist on being confused about what this book is about, and where their attention should be…

  12. nutmegmcgraw says:

    Ok, that last comment came across as a little more aggressive than it should’ve been. It’s just that I get so frustrated with people on this point. This frustration has been mounting with every person I’ve talked to about this that seems to be under the impression that Tolle is denouncing Jesus, or taking power away from God in some way, when really, the entire book is about strengthening your spiritual center, and how to do that.

    I’m sorry if I was a little over the top. 🙂 I do think you have the right idea, Aaron, in that, you should read it, and then judge from a more informed perspective. THEN, we’ll go to the mat! lol

  13. Marianne says:

    I think what is being said is that not all books are meant to be religious in nature.

    Secular people have positive thoughts too.

    So just take what is positive and go with it.

    Forget about trying to put our faith needs into everything.

    Our faith does not need support from the secular world anyhow…

    marianne
    http://heavenawaits.wordpress.com/