Total Person Transformation

Posted: April 28, 2008 in Travel
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Apparently, I’ve started a total transformation over the last 12 months, and I didn’t even know it.  How wierd is that?  I’m eating healthier, gave up my cigarettes, starting a workout program, getting more involved with my family (both immediate and extended), and, for my final transformation, emotional/spiritual.

The fantastic news is, I’ve been doing all of this with my wife, making us a team in these life changes of mine.

For my final efforts on having a better life, I’ve been starting yoga for flexibility, strength, and meditation, which should help me in all aspects of my life, except for spiritual.  There, I leave it to my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, to help me on that path.

Yoga is awesome!  I initially had my first taste of it, when doing Tony Horton’s P90 system, since you have approx 5 mins of “Power Yoga”, where you go into positions of “Downward Facing Dog”, “Plank”, “Crescent”, and “Warrior II”.  Then, we (my wife and I) started watching “Namaste Yoga“, and that opened the entire realm of yoga to me.  Since then, one of my favorite sites has been Yoga Journal, where I can study the positions, learn my breathing, and get expert advice and teachings.

This morning was my final revelation (spiritual).  It hit me, while driving to work.  I have alot of things that I need (and want) to happen in the upcoming months, such as closing on the house, vacations, safety in my travels, a boat, etc.  Well, in order for me to receive, I need to give, and I have NOT been giving.  Not just monetary, but time and attention as well.  I need to devote more time to Jesus and the church.  I need to devote more attention to my wife and kids.  I need to listen, when someone needs an ear…

I pray I can continue with this transformation, and become a better <father,husband,friend,brother,co-worker…>

Comments
  1. Amber says:

    Wow. That’s awesome, Aaron! The path to becoming a better person is eternal, but it feels so good to reach even the smallest milestones for such.

    By the way- I LOVE yoga! I miss it so much, but the prenatal dvd I got was way too boring. I absolutely adore the Namaste yoga sessions on FIT tv, but those are a no-no right now for me.

    Keep up the transformation! 🙂

    love you!

  2. Tammy says:

    I am have noticed the changes even the not working at night part. 🙂

    I adore you and the older you get the more I love you each and every day.

    You are doing great and I cant wait to see what the future holds for us.

  3. Megan McGraw says:

    *throwing up*…oh!, er, sorry, couldn’t help it…lol

    Aaron, I think all of what you are doing is absolutely wonderful!! Just being aware of all of that is inspiring! So many people miss what life is supposed to be about.

    I know you and Amber both really get into Yoga. God love her, she tried to get me into when I visited last year. I just couldn’t get into it. It’s just sooooo…stationary. And yet aerobic. I know that’s what most people like about it, but that’s what I DON’T. If I’m trying to reach my target heartrate, I want to be kinetic about it!! The same principle applies to walking – too slow. I want to be MOVING!!

    I know there’s a very real spiritual component to it, but I’ve never explored that. From what I understand though, it’s pretty cool!

    In summation: ROCK ON AARON!!! Love you bunches!!!