“Handlebars” video from Flobots

Posted: August 9, 2008 in Music
Tags: , ,

So, I was working in the garage tonight, building my new workbench. Devin and a friend were skateboarding, and heard a song on the radio playing in the garage. “Dad… I love this song… check it out…

So, I start listening, and talks about riding on the bike with no handlebars. I can see why Devin likes it. Go ahead and check it out, then keep reading…

Intrigued, I get on the internet to find out who sang it, and a little more about it, and found the video. It’s quite fascinating, and can be taken many different ways.

I think it’s about how corporate america has really gone overboard, overtaking just about everything from the power of the atom, to the power of the voice…. until one-day, things have gone so far, you no longer have control, and things start going their own way.

One guy chooses the dove, or the peaceful direction. The other guy chooses corporate america.

I found it incredibly sad and troubling, that the guy who chose the dove actually dies at the end, by the hand of his friend (indirectly, of course). And the artwork, especially the gunshots and bullet wounds, were impressively profound!

That’s my viewpoint… but can be taken many different ways. For example, my wife just thinks it’s just about the choices we make. Others thinks its about current politics.

What do you think? Post your comments

Comments
  1. I haven’t had a chance to watch the video, but I have listened to the song and the whole album it came from. I only listened to it once and didn’t feel like listening again because it was at such odds with my worldview. I really liked the sound off the music but I just can’t agree with enough of what they’re saying. They touch on corporate corruption, social issues and politics again and again. It’s not that I disagree that there are problems in most of these areas, I just disagree on the causes and the solutions most of the time. For some reason I can read or watch someone present an opposing viewpoint but I can’t stand to hear them sing about it. 🙂

  2. Aaron Paxson says:

    Hi Michael! Thanks for the discussion!

    Heh, yeah, I can certainly understand your viewpoint. We have enough discussion about politics on other media (newspapers,tv,the internet), leave the music alone, right?

    Thanks for your opinion!

    Cheers!

  3. Amber says:

    Well, I didn’t listen to the whole thing so I won’t join in on the previous discussion. I just didn’t like it- didn’t like the melody or music or video.

    Sorry, Dev- not my style. 🙂

  4. Tammy Jean says:

    It was OK…..I can see how teens and young adults like the sound. It’s a little strange.