Danish Coffee shop sees Americans as Coffee Wussies.

Posted: September 25, 2008 in Travel
Tags: , , , , , , ,

First, I want to point out, that I’m a coffee lover.  I LOVE coffee.  I pride myself on the fact that Swedish/Italian coffee is my favorite, then Starbucks/Seattle’s Best/Caribou Coffee next, finally, Folgers.  I really love coffee.  At Starbucks, I’m normally ordering 3 times the regular shots of espresso (for example, a tall mocha has one shot of expresso, I ask for 3)….(grande-4 shots, venti-5 shots).  The stronger the better… well, sometimes.

Okay, so now that’s out of the way.

I just arrived in Copenhagen, Denmark Airport.  As I waited for my train to come in, I decided to have some coffee at a unique Coffee chain in Denmark called Baresso Coffee.  As I looked on the menu, I really didn’t see my standard mochas that I love so much. 

On the menu, I see two types of “Espresso”.  The top one, just said Espresso.  Pretty obvious, just your standard, round-of-the-mill espresso.  The next one was “Americano”.  Hmmm… I just had to ask.

“So, what’s the Americano espresso like?”.  Well, you can’t get more American than that, can you?  I’m using the English language, with probably a heavy accent.  I was told….”… it’s espresso and hot water…”.

“Umm… so… watered down espresso?  Your ‘Americano Espresso’ is just watered down espresso?”.  She just says that makes most Americans laugh.  Yeahhhhhhhhhh.  Funny.

Is this what the Danish think of us?  Man!  We were the ones who started Starbucks for goodness sakes!  Oh, and the ironic part is… there was a Starbucks just 500 feet away in the same terminal!

Comments
  1. Amber says:

    That’s too funny! lol I take it you didn’t order the American version… 🙂

    xo