The Paxson Household is changing

Posted: December 12, 2008 in Family
Tags: , ,

My family has had it’s difficult times, no doubt.  But, no matter what, I consider us blessed.  It would be terrible of us, to NOT share our blessings with others.

In 2003, an old company of mine moved my family to Cincinnati.  We made the mistake of buying a house, without first learning the area.  Now, it wasn’t a bad area in the least.  We chose locations based on School ratings.  But, nonetheless, we felt there were nicer neighborhoods that we could have chosen from, had we taken the time.

So, when I joined a company who moved me to Nashville, we decided to lease-to-buy for the first 12-18 months.  That way, if we liked it, we can buy it, but if not, we have a way out.

Well, during our tenure (and in the middle of the ARM foreclosure fallout) our landlord defaulted on the property, and we entered a “Cash for Keys” program with the bank.  That means, the bank that took over the property offered us money to get out by a certain time.

So, we loved the neighborhood, the kids were settled, we really wanted to find a house close.  

Okay, that was a HUGE lead up and introduction for what the post is about.  I’ll get to the point.

To make a long story short, we found a perfect house for us, in the same neighborhood (just 1/4 mile down the road).  Our kids keep the same friends, and school.  The house was a little big than we needed, but it did have a spare bedroom and bathroom for guests, plus an extra living room for the guests.  

Just a few weeks ago, Tammy’s grandmother had to make a difficult decision.   She knew she can’t take care of herself anymore, and she also can’t stand nursing homes.  Yep, you guessed it.  She asked to move into our home with us.

It was a difficult decision for us, but we, as a society, has taken family for granted.  In other parts of the world, families seldom live further than an hour away, and some families take care of each other in such proximity, they could be next door, or even upstairs.

It has taken me a long time to realize this.  I was never very close to my Grandparents, and I always lived far from my family.  The only time I saw family was during special occasions or holidays.

Tammy, on the other hand, growing up in Europe, has a different view of family values.  These values, I feel, are for the better, and teach our kids great things.  So, not only is it the right thing to do; Not only is this the right value to teach our kids; Not only is this the Christian thing to do; we should always share our blessings.

I believe we were given this house for exactly this reason… to give helping aid to Tammy’s grandparents.  I believe that’s why I chose to move to the Nashville office, rather than the Cleveland office (Cleveland was downsized by 70% this month).  I believe that’s why I still have a job.  And I believe, that’s why Tammy can’t get a job (she’s never had a problem in the medical industry).

So, everything happens for a reason, and every now and then, you need to keep your ears open, even if it means difficulties.  It’s the difficulties and challenges in life, that make life worth living.  Of course, it never feels that way, during those times.

So, we have been working hard the last week getting their bedroom ready, building shelves in closets, cleaning the garage, etc.  Generally, getting ready to introduce Tammy’s grandparents, their final home.

It will be difficult, and the closest family we have is my sister in Illinois (7 hour drive), so we are pretty much on our own.

May God Bless everyone, and give us strength and wisdom through these difficult times.

Cheers!  I need a beer.  🙂 🙂

Comments
  1. nutmegmcgraw says:

    What a huge thing to do! It CAN’T be easy opening your home to someone to help take care of them, and I think it takes special people (i.e. YOU and TAMMY) to do something like that! So THAT’S what all your cleaning is about! No wonder! Good luck to you!

    You’re my hero, bro – love you!