Gay Marriage – A thought or two

Posted: March 26, 2013 in Life!, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I am sitting at Starbucks, and see all these red equals pictures all over the internet.  It made me think.

Now, I’m just your average, everyday man.  I’m not a paster, a priest, or any other leader of the Christian church.  Matter of fact, I am a sinner, and have ALOT to learn about my religion.  However, I AM a man of Christ’s Church (with a capital ‘C’).  With that said, I felt a heavy heart to tell people what I think.  My “feelings” as it were.  It IS my blog, afterall.

First off, I will start by stating the obvious… “I am not for gay marriage”.  Does that make me a bad person?  A bad Christian?  A bad anything?

Who ultimately says what is right and wrong?

Let me ask you this…. who ultimately says what is right or wrong?  Our government?  Well, 130 years ago part of our government thought slavery and people were property.  Just 70 years ago, our government thought black people should not vote.  How about you?  Do you say what’s right?  If that’s the case… then all these murders going around are OK.  Why?  THOSE people think they are right.

So, ultimately, who says what’s right?  Well, I can’t trust people, and I can’t trust the government.  And, I’m a sinner, so I can’t trust myself.  So, who do I trust to say what’s right?

God says it in the Bible.  EVERYTHING that is right and true is in the Bible.  Don’t let those motivational speakers fool you.  They sound good, but they don’t quote the bible. And some, quote the bible out of context to prove whatever it is they want to prove. They take what the Bible stands for, and use their own words.

So, what does the Bible say?  Lots, but above all, God calls it “detestable” or “abomination” depending on your translation (Leviticus 18:22).  There are other references, but I will not list them all.

…You’re just being a stupid hypocrite and religious fanatic.

Your next question to me will be, “But, you are being a hypocrite, aren’t you?  You are supposed to love everyone and be tolerant of them”.  Well, yes, I believe you are right.  But, being tolerant does not mean the same thing as “agree with”.  I don’t “agree with” coffee-flavored-ice cream.  But, I’m tolerant of it.  I don’t “agree with” what President Obama does all the time, but I’m tolerant of it.  I don’t “agree with” Polygamy, but I’m tolerant of them.

Now, what does all of this mean?  Nothing.  I’m not worth anything to you.  But, I’m worth everything to God.  I want him to be proud of me, and the life I lead.  I want him to look at me during my passing and say “Well done”. (Taken blatently from Pastor Allen Jackson, but I’m sure he won’t mind.  It’s still true).

Wait, so you don’t like gays?

I didn’t say that.  They are people, like me.  They have good hearts.  They have feelings and goals; Dreams and happiness.  Just like me.  I find them funny, and a joy to be with.  I am just not agreeing that the term “marriage” is with same-sex, nor do I believe God sees same-sex as OK.  Again, if I’m not sure, I go to the bible.

Blessings and love,

Aaron

Comments are closed.