Travel Thoughts

Posted: August 30, 2015 in Travel
Tags: , , ,

willpower2.1As my monthly travels continue to increase, there are so many things that I need to build upon.  Mostly willpower.  I don’t know about you, but my willpower lately, has sorely been lacking.  When I say “lately”, what I really mean is “the last few years”.  It’s horrible, and bad habits are hard to break.  What are those habits you ask?

  1. Bad Eating – When I’m traveling, my schedule is pretty much already set.  I feel like I have to be a camel when I eat, because I’m not sure when the next time will be.  Which is a stupid mindset.  Also, I need to start eating what is good for me, and not just because I’m at some awesome steakhouse filled with fat and carbs.  More seafood, and less comfort food.
  2. Exercise – Wow, why is this so hard for me?  I usually stay at hotels with fitness rooms. I need to get back into an exercise routine while traveling, whatever that may look like.
  3. Drinking – When I’m by myself traveling, I’m ok.  But, if I am with colleagues or local friends, I generally have a few drinks.  That is just more carbs and calories than I need.

If I could just get enough willpower to overcome these bad habits, I will be a happier person.  Which, I’m sure, my wife and kids would appreciate.

Favorite Quote by Cameron Diaz:

“Just because you can chew it, swallow it, and poop it, doesn’t mean it’s food.  It just means you can chew it, swallow it, and poop it.”

Cheers!

 

Comments are closed.